February 23, 2018


We made you a mixtape! In this third installment of music videos, our selections chart a course through those awkward and momentous junior high years, from evolving identities to artistic revelations to awakenings of an...um...aesthetic nature.

The delightful Matt Palmer returns--along with his encyclopedic knowledge of late 20th century pop--to talk about more of the music that made us, as we refuse to say bye bye (bye) to our middle school tastes.

Music videos featured in this episode:

"My Name Is" by Eminem (1999)
"Pretty Fly (For a White Guy)" by The Offspring (1998)
"Heartbreaker" by Mariah Carey ft. Jay-Z (1999)
"Every Morning" by Sugar Ray (1999)
"Oops!...I Did It Again" by Britney Spears (2000)
"Bye Bye Bye" by N*SYNC (2000)
"Yellow" by Coldplay (2000)
"Clint Eastwood" by Gorillaz (2001)
"Survivor" by Destiny's Child (2001)

More Music Videos

Vol. 1
Vol. 2
Vol. 3: Middle School Mixtape

More Matt Palmer

Get Lost EP
Two Gay Matts on YouTube

February 9, 2018


Like Renaissance sculptures made flesh, the film debut of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles transforms the testudinal heroes from cartoon characters into three-dimensional wisecracking, pizza-gobbling machines. Along the way, they somehow rediscovered their grittier comic book aesthetic, as they emerge in a seedy urban landscape rife with brainwashed children, unhinged vigilantes, and a ninja cult that's very comfortable with torture.

Guest star Nate Tapp joins us as we serve up some wide-ranging banter about family and fatherhood, rank our favorite turtles, and, of course, reminisce some more about the most awesome TMNT toys. So grab a New York slice and get ready for some serious turtle talk, 'cause this is what we do!

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (1990)
Directed by Steve Barron
Produced by David Chan, Kim Dawson, and Simon Fields
Written by Todd W. Langen and Bobby Herbeck
Based on Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles by Kevin Eastman and Peter Laird
Starring Josh Pais, Brian Tochi, Corey Feldman, Robbie Rist, Kevin Clash, Judith Hoag, Elias Koteas, James Saito, Toshishiro Obata, Michael Turney, and Sam Rockwell

Cowabunga! Check out more of our TMNT tributes:
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (1987 TV series)
Raph Punk